mtv Splash Page is moving! come with us to mtv news »

Nick StahlIf you thought superhero movies were dominating the news yesterday, here's a little something to tide over you horror comic book fans out there.

Fox's developing adaptation of Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez's "Locke & Key" has added a new actor to its cast. According to Deadline, "Carnivàle" actor Nick Stahl has signed on for the co-starring role of Duncan Locke, one of the many faces audiences will encounter on their impending first visit to Lovecraft, Massachusetts next fall. Read More...

Tags ,

The Walking DeadFrom "Kick-Ass" and "Iron Man 2" to "Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World" and "The Walking Dead," there were a lot of great projects that hit theater and television screens in 2010. We spent the last few weeks breaking down some of the highlights (and low points) of the year in our Best Of 2010 features, but now it's time to look ahead to the year in front of us.

By any count, 2011 looks to be another big year for comic book movies and television series based on comic book properties. Not only will Marvel Studios offer up a double feature of "Thor" and "Captain America: The First Avenger" this year, but Warner Bros. will bring "Green Lantern" to the big screen and we'll get the much-anticipated second season of "The Walking Dead."

In the interest of helping you make sure your calendar is clear for this year's cornucopia of comics-friendly projects, I've put together a list of some of the big-ticket items to look out for in 2011. Read More...

Tags

Michael McMillianEarlier this month, we brought you the news that "True Blood" actor Michael McMillian will be teaming up with veteran comics writer Marc Andreyko to script the next arc of IDW Publishing's "True Blood" comic book series.

McMillian and Andreyko's "True Blood" arc will explore what happens when new vampire Jessica Hamby is turned feral by a contaminated bottle of synthetic blood substitute Tru Blood. Along with aeries regulars Sookie Stackhouse and Bill Compton, the arc will also feature the comic book debut of fan-favorite "True Blood" characters such as Hoyt Fortenberry, Terry Bellefleur, Arlene Fowler, and McMillian's own character, anti-vampire crusader Steve Newlin.

I caught up with McMillian recently to get a few more details about his "True Blood" arc, how it will connect with the wildly popular HBO television series, and what could be in store for fan-favorite character Steve Newlin in both the comics and television worlds. We also got an update on his other comics project: the four-issue "Lucid" series that marked his comics debut and will see its third issue hit shelves soon. Read More...

Tags ,

Sarah BolgerThe Fox network's adaptation of Joe Hill's "Locke & Key" already has a director and star locked and loaded in the form of Mark Romanek and Miranda Otto — and while the casting process is far from over, it's certainly moving along at a brisk pace.

Deadline reports that actress Sarah Bolger is on board for "Locke & Key," a move made less than a month after the casting of Miranda Otto as Nina Locke. Bolger will play Kinsey Locke, one of the three children at the center of the story.

In "Locke & Key," a normal family is torn apart after an unspeakable tragedy claims the patriarch's life. In light of their father's death, the three Locke children — Tyler, Kinsey (Bolger) and Bode — move with their mother Nina (Otto) to Keyhouse, a mysterious New England mansion located in Lovecraft, Massachusetts. Read More...

Tags ,

Godzilla comicBack in October, we brought you the exclusive news that Godzilla was returning to comics — and he was bringing a whole mess of monsters with him. Today, IDW Publishing has revealed the creative team that will handle Godzilla's new adventures, and offered up a brand new cover image for the series.

Scripted by "Goon" creator Eric Powell and Tracy Marsh, the newly retitled "Godzilla: Monster World" will feature art by Phil Hester ("Green Arrow," "Firebreather") and painted covers by Powell and Alex Ross. According to IDW, the series unfolds in a world where "the monsters are a force of nature whose attacks can be no more predicted or rationalized than a lightning strike. There will be no clean-cut heroes with perfectly chiseled chins and capes billowing in the wind; only ordinary human beings struggling desperately to survive in a world gone mad."

"Godzilla: Monster World" #1 will hit shelves in March 2011. Read More...

Tags

Mike McMillian - True BloodIf you haven't been reading the "True Blood" comic book series, perhaps the direct involvement of a "True Blood" cast member might push you over the fence.

IDW Publishing and HBO announced in a press release today that actor and "Lucid" creator Michael McMillian, who stars on "True Blood" as the nefarious Reverend Steve Newlin, is lending his talents as a co-writer to the television-turned-comic book series. He'll co-author the second arc of "True Blood" alongside writer Marc Andreyko, with Joe Corroney tapped for art duties.

"Co-writing the 'True Blood' comic is a dream come true both as a performer on the show and as a longtime comic fan," McMillian said in a statement. "It's a real privilege to build on the rapidly growing 'True Blood' mythology." Read More...

Tags , ,

Geek Gift Guide 2010Thanksgiving is almost here, and that means there's only a month of shopping left in the holiday season. However, while this can be a scary realization for many people, you don't have to worry — because we've got ideas for the geeks on your list (or anyone else you want to convert to a life of geekery) covered.

This year, we're giving you the next best thing to actually buying the gifts for you. Your friendly neighborhood Splash Page team has come up with a wide-ranging list of books, games, toys, music and various other things to buy for everyone on your list — from the hardcore fanboys and fangirls to someone who's still learning the difference between Green Lantern and Green Hornet.

In the end, we tried to avoid some of the most obvious comics-related gifts this year and give you a mash-up of our own wishlists and the items we're planning to buy for our own friends and family. Here's hoping you find it helpful when it comes time for you to start dropping your hard-earned money on manufactured holiday joy. Read More...

Tags

Locke & KeyIt’s no surprise to comic fans that Hollywood movers and shakers saw big potential in “Locke & Key” as a television series rather than a motion picture. Fox network already granted its brewing adaptation a pilot in the hope of touting it as a summer series, and now they've given DW Publishing’s still-unwinding supernatural thriller another vote of confidence by landing a director and star.

As reported by Deadline, director Mark Romanek is in negotiations to make his TV debut with the project. Romanek, who emerged directing striking music videos for acts like Nine Inch Nails and Michael Jackson among others, also has to his credit the films “One Hour Photo” and this year’s “Never Let Me Go”.

Seemingly more set in stone is the news that actress Miranda Otto ("The Lord Of The Rings") will headline the cast as Nina Locke, mother of children Tyler, Kinsey and Bode, who—following the murder of their father—move to Lovecraft, Massachusetts and into Keyhouse, a mansion filled with doors to different worlds that grant the siblings unusual powers. Read More...

Tags , ,

Zombie Survival GuideBack in July, I was proud to bring you the exclusive scoop that author Max Brooks' "World War Z" and "Zombie Survival Guide" (as well as the "Zombie Survival Guide: Recorded Attacks" comics) had both been optioned by Paramount for live-action adaptations, with Brad Pitt attached to star in the "World War Z" movie.

With Brooks scheduled to make an appearance at this weekend's Long Beach Comic Con in support of "Recorded Attacks" and the rest of his zombie-friendly projects (as well as his recent "G.I. Joe: Hearts & Minds" miniseries), I caught up with the writer to get an update on his long list of current and future projects. What I didn't expect, however, was to find a fellow fan of Galador's greatest hero: Rom, Spaceknight.

MTV NEWS: You have a lot on you plate these days, so let's kick things off with "Recorded Attacks." How do you feel about the finished project there and the translation from smaller segments in the novel to a full-on comic book? Read More...

Tags , , , ,

Locke & Key"The Walking Dead" isn't the only comic book television series haunting the Halloween season. Appropriately enough, it appears that the holiday has provided a major treat for fans of IDW Publishing's "Locke & Key" comic book series.

Already announced as in development, the planned "Locke & Key" television adaptation has officially received the green light for a pilot episode on the Fox network. According to Deadline, Fox is eyeing "Locke & Key" as a potential summer series.

"Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles" creator Josh Friedman is credited as the writer of the "Locke & Key" adaptation, with frequent collaborators and "Cowboys & Aliens" co-writers Alex Kurtzman and Roberto Orci attached as producers. The project also comes courtesy of DreamWorks TV, though Steven Spielberg does not appear to be involved as was previously reported. Read More...

Tags

©2014 Viacom International Inc. All Rights Reserved. MTV and all related titles and logos are trademarks of Viacom International Inc.